Pickles

I have this wonderful memory of mom making pickles, back when I was short.

The cucumbers cooked in the old electric skillet and the aroma wafted through the home while I impatiently pestered her for a sample.

The problem is, no recipe calls for cooking cukes, so, I called mom, who responded incredulously, “Cook them? Why would you cook them? Then they wouldn’t be crunchy.”

She went on to confer with dad: “John? Do you ever remember cooking pickles? No? Neither do I…”

“No,” she said, “I don’t think we would ever do that.”

She recommended a look at the Joy of Cooking, so, straight out of the Joy of cooking, pickles, kosher:

3 cups water, 3 cups vinegar, ¼ cup salt and 12 halved garlic cloves brought to a boil and poured (strained to remove the garlic which will otherwise fester) over jarred (make sure jarred, not Jared) pickles, with dill, a few peppercorns and in a couple, red pepper flakes.

This reminds me of a dream I had, where mom was making pickles, back when I was short.

Curiously, she was cooking the pickles in an old electric skillet…

Published by

5 crew

The Crew are omnivorous land mammals

2 thoughts on “Pickles”

Comments are closed.