White Chocolate Cherry Almond Shortbread

We live right around that cherryJen here.  Sunday was Christmas cookie day in our house and I set out to create a new cookie.  Over the summer, I picked up the Michigan shaped cookie cutter but knew I wanted to do something different from a sugar cookie.  Cherries are a popular commodity of Michigan and what goes better with cherries than white chocolate and almonds.

I made a basic shortbread cookie and added the other items by sight – I would say about a 1/2 cup of each.

It was difficult to roll out the dough due to the lumpiness from the add-ins, so I wound up taking small portions and patting it down.  This obviously took a bit more time but in the end, these were oh so worth it.

I never had a problem with them cracking or breaking while transferring them to the cookie sheet and they turned out perfect.

I am putting the recipe here to share with all of you as I had a hard time finding one that I liked online, so I made it up myself….but I am also putting it here to document it for future use.  These will be made again….maybe in a different shape!

Jen’s Original White Chocolate Cherry Almond Shortbread

Makes: approx. 36 cookies

Prep time: 45 minutes (rolling out and cutting each one individually)

Bake time: 30 minutes

Temperature: 300 degrees

Ingredients:

2 sticks unsalted butter- softened

2 1/2 cups flour

1/2 cup sugar

1 tsp vanilla extract

1/2 cup dried cherries

1/2 cup slivered almonds

1/2 cup white chocolate chips

Combine softened butter and sugar. Blend well. Add in vanilla, continue to blend till creamy. Gradually mix in flour till well incorporated – batter will resemble crumbs at this time.

With a large wooden spoon or spatula, fold in cherries, almonds and chips.

Gather up a handful of batter and with your hands mix together.  You will notice that the batter will easily mix together and become smooth.

At this time, on a lightly floured surface, pat the batter down to approx 1/4 inch thick.  Use a cookie cutter of your choice, but remember to dip it lightly in flour.  This will help prevent sticking.  Cut out desired shapes and transfer with a spatula to a cookie sheet lined with parchment paper.

Bake for 20 minutes in a 300 degree oven.  You only want them slightly brown, so definitely watch them at the last couple of minutes.

Remove to a cooling rack.  Enjoy!

Published by

5 crew

The Crew are omnivorous land mammals