Saturday Night Theme: West African Fare

A few weeks ago, when I made the apple yogurt coffee cake, I decided the recipe was so good, I needed to return to the website, Kitchen.M., and window shop some more.

That’s when I found the recipe for her West African Peanut Stew, and I knew it was immediately part of our recipes-to-try-list.  The list is very large……and I am not sure we will ever get to the end of it (or the middle) because we keep adding to it at an alarmingly quick pace.  As a matter of fact, Dan even mentioned banning himself from looking at food sites until we could make a dent in our list.  I am not sure that has worked, yet.

So, Saturday morning, I set out to grocery shop, in the pouring rain!  I came home and gathered my ingredients.

You will notice when reading her recipe, she calls for apple juice.  Just to be creative and kinda make this my own, I substituted pomegranate juice, and it was AMAZING!

The longest part of the recipe was the prep work.  If you dice up the sweet potatoes small enough, they will cook quickly and you can have dinner on the table in 45 minutes, start to finish.

Being that it rained ALL day, the stew was a perfect, warm and delightful end to a soggy day.

Because there were so many vegetables in the stew and it was very hearty, we didn’t need much to accompany it.  However, I decided that popovers would go well with it.

In my continued attempt at ‘Going Healthy’, I totally modified my popover recipe and wound up with more of a muffin.  They were very tasty and worked great at sopping up the liquid at the bottom of the bowl.

Here is what I did:

1 C. white whole wheat flour

1 C. soy milk

1. C egg beaters

Pinch of sea salt

Pre-heat oven to 400, mix all ingredients together, liberally spray a muffin pan and fill 3/4 full.  Place in oven for 30 minutes and DON”T OPEN THE DOOR till they are done.

Published by

5 crew

The Crew are omnivorous land mammals