Dad’s Popovers

I love making popovers – only because I LOVE eating popovers.  But pretty much every time I make them, they fall immediately upon removal from the oven.  Last week I had stopped by my parents house and my Dad had made some earlier in the day.  The few that were left – several hours later – were still standing tall!

Last night, we had leftovers of the shrimp quinoa, so I decided to make popovers to go along with it.

Here is my Dad’s recipe:

1 cup flour

1 cup milk

4 eggs (or eqq substitute)

1 tsp salt

Mix all ingredients together. Set aside.

Pre-heat oven to 425 – while the oven is preheating, place the popover pan/muffin pan in oven to heat.  After the oven is preheated, remove the pan, spray the cups with non-stick cooking spray and fill 3/4 full.

Place in the oven for 25 minutes – and DO NOT OPEN THE OVEN DOOR TO PEEK!!!!

Remove when nicely golden on top (you would only know this if you have a window on your oven door – I sure hope you do)

When you remove them, they should be pretty and tall.  But again, I must have a popover curse, because, sadly,  mine looked like this:

But they were really tasty!

Published by

5 crew

The Crew are omnivorous land mammals